No man ever steps in the same river twice.

I’ve been dreaming of waves lately.  Some are huuuge tsunami style waves, that gently pick me up and float me away.  Sometimes I’m surfing on them.  Sometimes I dive into them.

I don’t know what a dream analyst would say, but to me waves signify upcoming change.  What will it be?  Well, I just don’t know.  My belly-brain says it’s exciting, as does my heart.  My head’s clueless.

Whatever it is, I embrace it.

Most people have heard of mandalas; intricately beautiful creations made of sand over days and days of careful work.  When they are completed, they are ritualistically destroyed.  This is symbolic of the cycle of creation and destruction, as well as the transitory nature of life.

One of my favorite quotes on change is “No man ever steps in the same river twice”, by the Greek philosopher Heraclitus.  You could lift your leg and return it with super-quick ninja speed, and none of the water it’d touch would be the same as the first time, it’d be a different river.  As is life.

Or a quote from the brilliant movie Waking Life:
“You want to keep things on an even key, this is what I’m saying. You want to go with the flow. The sea refuses no river. The idea is to remain in a state of constant departure while always arriving”.  Ya dig?

The only certainty in life is that it will change – embrace all that you enjoy with great gratitude, but practice non-attachment for the moment, knowing it is just that…a moment.

Leave a Reply

