Going with the flow.

Oh man, just read my last two posts in a row.  I’m all like, “man I’m grateful, this is so awesome!” then BOOM, job = gone.  What the what, man.  Pssscht.  I actually closed the post three days before my job unexpectedly ended with this:

“When shit happens, and it will, learn the lesson.  There is always a lesson.  I’ve also found that when everything crumbles, it just means it’s time for something better.  Keep your chin up and your eyes on the prize – it gets better.”

Pssscht.  Effin’ ME.  Fuckin’ fine.

The truth is I’m not totally sure what the lesson is, I just don’t know that yet.  I still feel like everything is very unsettled, not that it ever totally settles, but I definitely feel like I’m in the middle of several events.  Who knows.

So, I focused on having some fun and trying to feel good.  I had already gotten a train ticket to see an old friend in Eugene.  I almost cancelled after the news, and then contemplated what my weekend would entail if I stayed home.  (Major pity party.)

So I went, and we just had a redonkulously fun time.  Like, out of control.  I got to catch up with a truly amazing person who I’ve seen only once in sixteen years!  Even though we’re totally different people than we were last time we were close (15 year old cheerleaders!) we’ve somehow changed in similar ways, and totally mesh.  So cool!  I also met all her super hilarious, kind, cool people.  SO. MUCH. FUN.

I had that really great sore face and belly feeling from laughing crazy hard for days after.  The best ache ev-ver.  On the train home I felt like a different person than on the train there – the weekend totally hit the spot and flipped my perspective.

I’m temping again (the other job was never permanent), and I’ve only had to miss a day and half of work $.  My kneejerk to that news last week was strong.  Unexpected job loss is a bigtime trigger for me – I was laid off three times in five years! (A corporate acquisition, a corporate restructuring, and the death of a business.)

I don’t know what’s going to happen.  I really do have faith though.  I’m just going to try to go with the flow, and throw out the proverbial paddles.  Sweep me up, life – I’m game.  I’m just gonna substitute secretary it up, make stuff, try to enjoy myself, and see what happens.

Seems appropriate to close with a Lao-tzu (author of the Tao te Ching) quote:

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.”

Good luck out there!

Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them – that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/l/laotzu151126.html#Pk1A9JqPV6Bc5Ykb.99
Leave a Reply

